AFLX – What is it? banner

AFLX – What is it?

The first mini-tournament of AFLX will be played this Thursday (15th February) at Hindmarsh Stadium in Adelaide, followed by matches in Melbourne (Etihad Stadium) and Sydney (Allianz Stadium) across the weekend. Football’s answer to 20/20 cricket promises to be an exciting addition to the AFL fixture which has slowly stretched outside its’ traditional winter boundaries over the last few years.

We take a look at the new format of AFL so you are ready to go from the first bounce!


The biggest change is the playing field itself which is a rectangle, with the ‘40 metre’ lines connecting into the parallel sidelines, rather than the traditional football oval. 100-120m in length and 60-70m in width it has allowed the AFL to use soccer venues like Hindmarsh Stadium and is clearly a concerted to make the most of the many soccer pitches around the country if the game takes off.

One of the main concerns if the game takes off will be to hold it at appropriate venues. Soccer Stadiums are 100% better to view AFLX than football stadiums where the fans would be sitting away from the action.


Each team will consists of 10 players, 7 on the field and 3 on the bench. 2 players will start in the forward line, 2 in the back line and 3 in the middle.


The game will consist of 2 x ten minute halves with no time on and a ruck to start the contest.


Super Goal – 10 Points

20 seconds shot clock

If a player rushes a behind, the other team gets one point and a free set shot from 40m. There is a kick-in after every score, goal or point (unless its a rushed behind as we discussed previously).


  • The 50m penalty becomes a 25m penalty
  • The last touch out of bounds gives a free kick to the opposite team. Similar to basketball. You can only kick from this position, you can’t handball or shoot for goal.
  • If you kick the ball backwards then it is play on (except in the forward 40)


Does the AFL risk oversaturation with two new products in the market at the same time? The AFLW was allowed to find its’ feet during its’ inaugural season without any early competition from the AFL. With the focus on the women’s scoring and the AFLX essentially introducing a higher paced, higher scoring version of the men’s game it will be interesting to see which format spectators choose to follow.


Six teams play at each location with the teams split into two ‘pools’ that play the other teams in that group. The teams at the top of the Pool A and Pool B play each other in the Grand Final.

ADELAIDE (Hindmarsh Stadium)

Port Adelaide (A)

Geelong Cats (A)

Fremantle Dockers (A)

Adelaide Crows (B)

Collingwood Magpies (B)

West Coast Eagles (B)

MELBOURNE (Etihad Stadium)

Carlton Blues (A)

Melbourne Demons (A)

North Melbourne Kangaroos (A)

Hawthorn Hawks (B)

Essendon Bombers (B)

St Kilda Saints (B)

SYDNEY (Allianz Stadium)

GWS Giants (A)

Richmond Tigers (A)

Brisbane Lions (A)

Sydney Swans (B)

Western Bulldogs (B)

Gold Coast Suns (B)